Stories Untold: The Lab Conduct [Ep2]

The Lab Conduct is the second episode in Stories Untold. You play as a man named Mr. Aition, a volunteer conducting an experiment with two scientists observing and directing the experiment.

Before I begin the post, please avoid this episode if you suffer epileptic seizures caused by flashing lights. Towards the end of the episode, there is a fair amount of flashing lights. 

While The House Abandon was purely a text-based game, the Lab Conduct throws something new into the mix. Bringing in the ability to interact with your (limited) environment using point-and-click mechanics. Along with that there is actual spoken dialogue in the game, something that was not seen in the House Abandon.

20170330224818_1
Time to do some science!

Interacting with the equipment and navigating the lab is intuitive. I had no trouble figuring out how to swap between viewing the monitor and lab equipment. The equipment was easy to figure out as well once I figured what the equipment pieces were. Using the different equipment to conduct the experiment and seeing the results was both exciting and terrifying at the same time. I loved using the various equipment but the results…not so much. Needless to say, things got bad alarmingly quick.

The story in the second episode feels like a roller-coaster: starts off slowly, building up to the peak and once it reaches the peak, the action comes hard and fast. Even with the text-based portion of the game making an appearance at the peak of the game, the tension and action felt very real and high-speed to me. Guess what though?

I loved it.

My favorite part in the entire episode was when the actions you typed into the computer, was actually happening in ‘real-time’ as well. By far the best part in the entire episode in my opinion. Although I have yet to see whether the episodes are linked together or not, so far it does not seem to be the case.

The cinematic for the flashbacks was fantastic, adding and fueling the story along. It allows you a brief glimpse into the past in a series of quick images. While I hated the medium the flashbacks were delivered in, I enjoyed the flashbacks themselves.

20170330230803_1
Oh boy…this is not going to end well is it….

Did I mention this episode was disturbing? No? Well, guess what? This episode disturbed me greatly when I realized what we were experimenting on. Basically you are conducting an experiment on what appears to be an organ that should be inside the human body. It reacts to one of the experiments and watching it on the monitor was not fun. Was not anticipating that at all, although I should have seen it coming once I saw what it was.

I know this review is relatively short compared to the House Abandon review, but do you know how hard it is to keep notes when you are swept up in the action? So in short, currently the Lab Conduct is not just a text-based game, it is also a point-and-click. Currently it is my favorite episode, although I need to see how the other two episodes play out before confirming that. I really hope this will be a trend for Stories Untold, where they add something different so players do not get bored of the text-based gameplay. If it does, then Stories Untold will most likely end up being one of my favorites in the horror category. Horror category meaning a non-mod horror title. Cannot wait to see what surprises episode three: The Station Process will bring.

2 thoughts on “Stories Untold: The Lab Conduct [Ep2]

Leave a comment

